Jeep Patriot Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone! I have a small trailer (wired and ready) and a hitch installed on my Patriot. What I don't have, is the wiring from the Patriot to connect to my trailer.

I've included a photo of the suggested wiring for the vehicle that came with my trailer wiring kit. It mentions splitting wires when installing it to my taillight and brake light and such. I'm not an expert at this. Also, a photo taking a look inside the left rear taillight assembly. Not sure where to match the yellow (left) green (right) brown or white (ground) wires to what's here.

UPDATE: Adding two photos (see bottom of this post - look for the ones with the yellow arrows) and mentioning I plan to use a Tekonsha wiring kit I have purchased on eTrailer. The red wire seems to be it, as I've learned this is the "hot lead" but I just don't know exactly how to splice it and specifically at which spot to access the exact part of it I'll need. Admittedly, I don't know what the little connector is in the final picture with the yellow arrows but I thought I'd include it just in case I might need to access this for some reason.

The Tekonsha kit instructions want me to run a cord all the way to the battery but I would prefer not to do that and this, why I'm exploring this "hot lead" red wire behind the taillight assembly to power the kit instead.

If you can help me make this happen, I will owe you a steak or something. Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
5,194 Posts
According to the documentation I have the "hot lead" is a connector with one Red/Violet wire on the left tail light side (see C323 in diagram below). I don't see this connector in the picture you posted.

I'm not 100% certain, but this hot lead may only be on vehicles that came with the factory trailer tow option installed.