Jeep Patriot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in general discussion section, maybe I should have posted it here

Hey all, new to the forum

I’m looking to buy my mother a Patriot. I’m in Michigan so we do get snow and ice roads in winter, I’m looking for a 4x4.

Any years to avoid? Is there a good buyers guide? I heard something about avoiding a cvt trans? I’m definitely a noob here. Any help in pointing me to the right direction would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
5,221 Posts
Welcome!

One thing to be on the lookout for in your area is front and rear sub-frame/cross-member rust. It can happen on any year and model.

Not sure what your budget is, but if you want an automatic 4x4 try looking at '14 and newer w/o the off-road package.

The CVT's can last a long time (200k+) if they've had regular fluid and filter changes at 30-50K miles, but the change intervals in the manual are way off so many of them ended up being neglected.

·
8,198 Posts
The early years of the Patriot some had leaky sunroofs. There are threads on here about how to solve the problem.

As for the CVT, my 2008 Patriot had the CVT and I (wrongly) waited till 120,000 to change the fluid and filters. Unfortunately, it only made it to 110,000 before I had problems. Thankfully it was replaced under warranty and the second CVT went to 270,000 miles but that one got serviced every 50,000.

Presently we have a 2014 Patriot with the 5-spd manual. It's at 140,000 and no problems. Clutch has had a chatter in reverse since new but it works just fine so I don't care.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies, a few more details to note

must be an automatic
the max I think I want to spend is 10k