Jeep Patriot Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, new to the forum. I purchased this 2014 patriot back in october of 21 with 38k miles. Last Saturday I hit a deer on the interstate. The hood flew up and dented the roof and smashed the windshield. Air bags deployed. It appears that the drivers front frame horn may have a slight kink to it. The transmission will not come out of park regardless of shifter location. The jeep was in great condition with zero rust. Which is hard to find a rust free vehicle in North West Pa. The insurance company is going to give me enough money to pay off the loan. I have thought about paying off the loan and fixing it myself. After buying it back from the insurance company. This was supposed to be a winter vehicle. Im a fabricator and a mechanic so the work does not scare me. Im just not sure if its worth it or not. Advice is appreciated. Thank you

Attachments

·
Administrator
2014 2.0 5-spd FWD
9,359 Posts
A really tough break. :( If you've seen the price of used vehicles these days, it may well be worth the repair, especially if you can DIY. If you've looked at new vehicles, you may find you like your Patriot better.

What about the airbags? Until a dozen years ago nobody had airbags* so I don't suppose that makes much of a difference, but there could be ethical/legal issues if you were to sell it without functional airbags.

Will you have a regular title or a salvage title? That would also affect resale value.

Aside from those considerations, if you're keeping it for yourself and it's otherwise in good condition I'd say fix it, keep it yourself, and run it forever.

*When I was a kid, even seat belts were an option. I don't think they came standard until '64.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·