Jeep Patriot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
My Jeep Patriot has just started sounding loud, like driving over a bad grating road. The handling seems the same. The engine runs quiet when stopped. The brakes seem to work the same. As you go faster, it gets louder. I walked along side outside as the car moved slowly. Might be sound by left tire. Doesn't make any strange sounds turning the corner. It just sounds loud as you go faster. I wonder if something is scraping? old brakes?

·
Registered
10 Posts
If the brake caliper is hanging it would sounds like grinding and you would sense a lot more heat from the one side than the other. The hub bearing will make a sound like you mention. Sometimes the should will change when turning right or left, which is one of the ways you can help pinpoint it as a hub bearing.

I have no experience with this on our Patriot. I had to replace both on my Liberty after 100K. On the Liberty it was not hard to do.

·
Registered
4 Posts
That sounds like a bearing that I just had replaced. Whined louder as I went faster. Mine were in the rear but I can start to hear the front make a noise like a whir whir whir WHIR WHIR WHIR as I take off. Just hit 70K in my 2016 so I figured this start is going to start to need its first set of replacements of this kind.

Good luck.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks all!
It does not make a strange sound turning. Just when accelerating. I live in a big city and park on the street. It's really impossible for me to lay down and look at anything. It's a Patriot 85,000 miles. It sounded more on the left by the drivers wheel than the right side.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I will push down on the tires and see this later. I recorded the sound inside my Jeep, but not sure that will be much help.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #8