Jeep Patriot Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings. I’m new to Jeep and have been reading this forum for about 6 months. I just wanted to check in to say hi and thanks for all the good information.

The first issue you helped me with on my low mileage, 2WD 2017 Sport was a mystery coolant leak that I couldn’t see but could smell. It turned out to be the secondary seal on my 5 year old radiator cap. The next issue was a tire puncture in a stock LS2 on my very first off-road adventure. I off-road in some remote and rugged terrain and limping to a tire shop on that donut spare did not make me happy. I hate donut spares. After a bit of research I decided on a set of General Grabber A/TX tires (215/65R16) and a plug kit. I’ve always carried an air compressor but had never carried a plug kit before because I always had a full size spare (Had an 01 Tacoma/PreRunner/TRD for 20 years). These new LT? tires seem indestructible so I should be ready for just about anything. I recently bought a new smaller air compressor (Pittsburg 100 PSI High Volume) that fits under the Patriots front driver seat and works really well. Project Farm gave it a good review. I also have a GOOLOO 4000A GP4000 jump starter (Project Farm reviewed) under the front passenger seat and it also fits well between the air vent and the door sill.

I considered bigger tires but I was staying with the heavy steelies, not adding a lift, and I thought the extra 5 pounds of unsprung weight at each corner from the beefier tires was enough of a penalty…although every time I see a nice Patriot with bigger tires I rethink that decision. :) The new tires perform amazing in the dirt when aired down and with traction control off and their stockish size leaves me plenty of room for wheel articulation.