Jeep Patriot Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In your opinion from the first CVT to the current CVT(2015) Improvement?

Just needing opinions..... Cuz I have a 2015 CVT.

Thanks

·
Fiat Cherokar
3,098 Posts
I can compare the Cvt used in the fdii. I had a 2008 fdii and now a 2012 fdii. Biggest different is the 2012 seems to shift faster and is more responsive. It probably has to do more with programming updates over the course of those 4 years. The thing with a cvt is getting used to how it feels, as it shifts way different compared to a conventional automatic

·
Banned
729 Posts
i have a cvt in my 2011 and i wish the auto 6speed was available back then.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
So do you guys think the 2015 is reliable and/or stable? I'm new to jeep in my 2015 so reading the web I get a sick tummy feeling seeing the bad comments on it.

Another question, if it's not good, can I change it? do they sell a better trans I can put in?

·
Banned
729 Posts
I feel the cvt is just as reliable as any other transmission on the road but i personally think its a sluggish turd. Never had any problems with it but it definitely makes the Patriot feel sluggish.But when its ready to go out or "blow up" theres no hope for it from what ive read.The CVT isnt really serviceable either but some have tried too make it so it is.As far as i know all FDII models only came with a CVT transmission,nothing else.Transmission swap kits are not available either.

·
Banned
729 Posts
On a side note,there are some owners in here that rock there cvt's pretty hard and keep the pedal to the metal offroading and they dont seem to have a problems

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #9