Jeep Patriot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Equal Opportunity Mod
2,464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before anyone gets too excited, I know the jeep isn't a race car or the poster child (if you will) for a high performance machine. I just want a little something more! I wanted to ask you all what aftermarket parts can I put on my rig for a little extra something? also...I came across a throttle body spacer. has any one else tried this? I have used them before and seen slight results but both were installed on 8 cylinder vehicles.

·
Registered
1,612 Posts
I can't see a TB spacer doing much, since the intake manifold is made of plastic (doesn't conduct too much heat), and the TB is mounted so low and far from the heads, I doubt heat soak is much of an issue on the intake at all. Just my guess here, I have no personal experience in such matters.

That said, there are some Mopar shorty headers that are said to help substantially (I believe they're also marketed by one of the other exhaust companies, but with a substantial markup for what is EXACTLY the same product, produced in the same factory). IIRC, they have equal-length runners, and should bolt in directly in place of the stock manifold, with no alterations downstream.

What I'd LIKE to see is some long-tube headers, but I haven't found anyone who makes any yet (granted, I haven't been searching THAT hard).

I believe there is at least one company that does Stage 2 cams.

Otherwise, you've got your CAI's and poly bushing kits, suspension upgrades and frame stiffeners. Not much else, and most of this stuff is marketed toward Calibers (make that your preferred search term instead of "Patriot").

And I still think the stock aluminum CSRT4 LCA's will fit the Patriot, but I don't have $500± to test the theory.

·
Registered
4,791 Posts