TIPM Help - Jeep Patriot Forums
JeepPatriot.com   JeepPatriot.com
The Jeep Patriot Enthusiast Resource

Notices

Electrical and Audio Discuss stereos, NAV, general wiring, lighting & GPS

JeepPatriot.com is the premier Jeep Patriot Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Enjoy JeepPatriot.com? Has the site helped you? If so, show your support! Become a Site Supporter!
Old 08-31-2010, 03:48 PM

rva321 is on a distinguished road
TIPM Help

The left headlight of my jeep patriot does not work, and it's not the bulb or fuse. I took the car into the dealership and they said the problem was the TIPM or totally intergrated power module. The TIPM would need to be replaced and would cost me $900 for parts and labor. My question is how hard would this be to replace myself. I have some car repair experience. I would need to know where to get the part, and how to replace it? I was also wondering if a find a used part for either a patriot, compass, or caliber if that would work? I understand that after I install the TIPM I would need to have the dealership program it, I'm just looking for the least expensive way to go about this.
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2010, 03:52 PM

Ride: 2008 jeep patriot 4x4 5 speed/Yamaha BWS
blitzbuggy is on a distinguished road
should be warranty no?
Old 08-31-2010, 04:53 PM

Ride: 2008 Silver Patriot Sport FDI 4x4 CVT
todde702 is a name known to alltodde702 is a name known to all
Send a message via MSN to todde702
Hook in two relays off the right headlights low and high beam to power on the left. No new TIPM needed! Of course it's a tad ghetto and it would probably be better to replace the TIPM.

Why would there even need to be computer control of the headlights though?

Quote:
"Nothing is either good or bad, but thinking makes it so."
- William Shakespeare

"I swear to drunk I'm not God!"
- Anonymous
Old 06-12-2014, 08:45 AM