3Likes
  • 1 Post By Ignatz
  • 1 Post By Ignatz
  • 1 Post By Ignatz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Weird Fog Light Issue?

Spring in eastern NC greeted me with a nice, thick blanket of fog on some of the backroads this morning, so I got to use the fog lights. I noticed something odd though - when I use the turn signal, the fog lights go off. Once the signal resets itself (after the turn is completed) or I turn it off, the fog lights come back on. Maybe I'm just a silly noob, but, I don't think that is supposed to happen...

Any ideas??

2007 Patriot Sport 4x4
2001 Grand Cherokee Limited
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 09:43 PM

Garage
Nah, you're not a silly noob. The fog lights should stay on -- in fact when making a sharp turn the sidespread of the fog lights might even help to illuminate the turn.

My guess is that you've got a short circuit in the signal stalk. I had a couple GM products that had exposed wires so when I use flipped hi/lo beams it was chafing on the wires. At about 50,000 miles my cruise control wouldn't work anymore.

Are you still under warranty? If so, bring it in to your dealer.

Last edited by Ignatz; 03-28-2017 at 07:27 PM. Reason: Spelling
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 07:44 AM Thread Starter

Garage
I tried it again this morning, just to make sure I wasn't doing something dumb, and sure enough, when I use the turn signal the fog lights go off. But - only when I use the right turn signal, not the left. So I'm thinking your idea of a short circuit makes sense.